I played my first RPG game in the late ’70’s and it was, of course, Dungeons & Dragons. The red box set. My friend had the game and, with the rest of our gang, we started battling monsters and saving townsfolk. We then quickly moved to Advanced Dungeons & Dragons. We even played Runequest and Stormbringer. It was glorious. It was fun.

Now I get to share the adventures with my family, my son in particular. And this blog will (hopefully) chronicle our journey together through Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition, and other RPGs. It truly seems they’re making a comeback. The tried-and-true, pencil & paper, tabletop RPGs. There are so many different kinds of RPGs, and different settings, available. I believe there is something for everyone.

This isn’t to take away from VTT sites like Fantasy Grounds and Roll20, and the myriad resources now available to DMs and players alike. I hope to use them myself. When I do, I will let you know about my experiences, both good and bad.

And without further ado, let me tell you about this campaign I’m starting to create for my son and his friends…

